#TrueStory @NathanMartin9 “I’m doing #MandelaMarathon for Tata Madiba!”

We “met” Nathan in Twitter.  Immediately his enthusiasm and interest in #MandelaMarathon struck a chord.  There seemed a sheer determination and an inherent passion in him, so much so that he felt he HAD to run this marathon.   I asked him if he would mind sharing his “why” with us, and he immediately agreed.   After suffering a knee injury, which he will still be nursing during the grueling marathon ahead, he has entered and started training for the 42.2km event on 25 August.

 

This is his story:

 

My name is Nathan Martin, I was born in Newcastle, Northern Natal in the year 1982.  I now reside in Durban since ’97.
In preparation to run my first Comrades Marathon 2013, I sustained an injury to my right knee and could not participate. It was really frustrating since I had qualified and entered.
Getting back onto the road and training again brought about that sense of freedom. A feeling of ecstasy, that most runners like me find difficulty in articulating what it actually is, that brings such passion to run.

The distances I generally run are more or less 15km. Growing up I was never really a long distance runner.

I started running longer distances last year. My longest is a 52km ultra marathon.

After having watched a clip on TV, informing viewers about the MDM, I decided there and then that I had to be a part of it!

 

This was huge for me.

 

Yes, it’s all about Nelson Mandela, an absolute icon, in leading the struggle against apartheid in our country. How could I not be a part of the MDM?

It will be my first MDM.

 

I’ve heard its a tough course. I will be doing the 42km run and since I’m not familiar with the route and also still recovering with my knee injury, I hope to finish in 5hrs.

I’m doing it for Tata Madiba!

 

I’m constantly in awe of people like Nathan, who so powerfully put across their message and who, despite injury, will, for the love of Madiba, attempt to run his first Mandela Day Marathon.

Thank you so much for sharing your story with us, and for supplying the awesome photos.   #MandelaMarathon #ROC and all officials wish you the very best for an amazing race.   May you go from strength to strength and come 25 August, be injury-free while you achieve the Triumph of the Human Spirit .
Nathan Martin, athlete..

Nathan Martin, athlete..

Nathan martin, "I'm running Mandela Marathon for Tata Madiba"

Nathan martin, “I’m running Mandela Marathon for Tata Madiba”

Determined, enthusiastic and excited, a pleasure to know Nathan.

Determined, enthusiastic and excited, a pleasure to know Nathan.

#KeepGoing

#KeepGoing

Woohoo! You did it!!

Woohoo! You did it!!

via 3 #TrueStory @NathanMartin9 “I’m doing #MandelaMarathon for Tata Madiba!”.

MANDELA MARATHON ON

FACEBOOK

TWITTER

PINTEREST

INSTAGRAM

PHOTOBUCKET

GOOGLE PLUS

YOU TUBE

MDM PAPER.LI

 

One Response to “#TrueStory @NathanMartin9 “I’m doing #MandelaMarathon for Tata Madiba!””

  1. Reblogged this on The New South Africa ~ Rainbow Nation and commented:

    Yes, it’s all about Nelson Mandela, an absolute icon, in leading the struggle against apartheid in our country. How could I not be a part of the MDM?

    It will be my first MDM.

    I’ve heard its a tough course. I will be doing the 42km run and since I’m not familiar with the route and also still recovering with my knee injury, I hope to finish in 5hrs.

    I’m doing it for Tata Madiba!

Leave a Reply

