2 years seems like yesterday, I Miss you Daddy

The greatest Man I've Ever Known - My Father

The greatest Man I’ve Ever Known – My Father

During the wee hours of 20 November 2011 we received the news that my father had passed away whilst in ICU at a private Pietermaritzburg Hospital.   He had been in ICU for some weeks, and petty family politics against myself and my children, caused me to make the decision that we would say our goodbyes the morning prior.  Something told me that daddy was going to be called that evening.   I was a few hours off.

Even so, nothing prepared me for the sheer excruciating agony of the knowledge that my father was no longer here.  He would never come back again.  My goodbye was never really “goodbye”.  I still have not said goodbye.  I think I never will.

Today Daddy, know that you are in my heart and thoughts, as you always are.  I know that you are looking down, Gunston placed strategically, and I know that you are happy where you are, happy also to see your beloved Muffin is now Queen of My Heart ♥

You know that I often talk to you, I often feel that you are there listening, complaining (true a lot of the time you did complain), imparting your wise words… and even if I cannot see you, I take comfort in the knowledge that you are with me, somehow, somewhere.  And that you are free from pain.  And that you are happy.

Westlife (now I REALLY do hear you groan!) had a beautiful song which I am dedicating to you.  You see, I have not been able to let go of you, memories of you are so very vivid.   Your laughter, your jokes, okay, I didn’t really find all of them funny… but some were just what we needed for a good belly laugh *wipes eyes*

I remember everything so vividly, just a couple of short years ago we went househunting, you and I, with the kids, looking for something where I would be there for you always to take care of you.   I remember everything.   But most of all I remember your love… I remember as a little girl how much you loved me.

I remember you taking me fishing when I was six.   I remember you letting me be your “boy” working on the old Peugeot, wearing overalls and looking ridiculous.   I remember you saying to me not too long before Jesus took you “I will never let anything happen to you or the kids, Doey.  I promise you.”

And so now I dedicate this song once again to you, because I feel you with me, and I know I will see you again.  I love you daddy, yesterday, today and forever.

Always you will be part of me
And I will forever feel your strength
When I need it most

You’re gone now, gone but not forgotten
I can’t say this to your face
But I know you hear

Chorus:
I’ll see you again
You never really left
I feel you walk beside me
I know I’ll see you again

When I’m lost, when I’m missing you like crazy
I tell myself I’m so blessed
To have had you in my life, my life

Chorus:
I’ll see you again
You never really left
I feel you walk beside me
I know I’ll see you again

When I had the time to tell you
Never thought Id live to see the day

When the words I should have said
Would come to haunt me
In my darkest hour I tell myself
I’ll see you again

Chorus:
I’ll see you again
You never really left
I feel you walk beside me
I know I’ll see you again

Someday I’ll see you again

I’ll see you again
You never really left
I feel you walk beside me
I know I’ll see you again

I’ll see you again
I’ll see you again

I miss you like crazy

You’re gone but not forgotten
I’ll never forget you

Someday I’ll see you again

I feel you walk beside me
Never leave you, yeah

Gone but not forgotten

I feel you by my side
No this is not goodbye x 3
I’ll See You Again

Songwriters
Poole, Michelle Lena / Hill, Andrew Gerard

Read more: Westlife – I’ll See You Again Lyrics | MetroLyrics

Leave a Reply

